πŸ” One of my favorite burgers in LA is in here

Long Beach recs, fireworks to watch, & cool exhibits

Well, the Fourth of July is creeping up on us: the official summer holiday filled with splashes, burgers on the grill, and a porch pounder in the form of rosΓ© or orange wine. if you're staying local, below you'll find my 2 favorite places to watch fireworks all weekend long.

I'd love to hear about what you'll be up to and all the BBQs you plan to indulge in 🀀

Like what you see below? Save these recs or share your own with friends on our app!

Okay, let's get to the going.

πŸ—“οΈ THINGS TO DO πŸ—“οΈ

  • πŸ” I'm alwaaaays in the mood for burgers. Our friends at Slammers Cafe are putting on a Burger Bash on Monday 6/27. Come hungry.

  • πŸ–ΌοΈ There are so many cool exhibits happening at museums rn! There's the Barbara Kruger exhibit at LACMA and the Takashi Murakami exhibit at The Broad. Art! Culture!

  • πŸƒβ€β™€οΈ Move your body by climbing the Santa Monica Stairs, which is comprised of 170 wooden steps and 199 concrete ones. Reward yourself with some Bagel Nosh afterwards.

  • 🐢 Friends with pups! Rosie's Dog Beach is Long Beach is the only legal off-leash dog beach in L.A. County. Make it a day and stop for coffee at Wood Coffee or Rose Park, baked goods at Colossus or Gusto Bread, a sandwich from Heritage, or a beer overlooking the water at Ballast Point Brewing. Save all these places to your Long Beach Camber list!

  • πŸŽ₯ Want to watch a movie at the Hollywood Forever Cemetery followed by fireworks for the 4th weekend? Well, Cinespia is putting on The Fast and the Furious on 7/2, Purple Rain on 7/3, and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off on 7/4 for the long weekend.

  • πŸŽ† My favorite LA summer activity: going to the Hollywood Bowl. This weekend, they have their Fireworks Spectacular on 6/2, 6/3, and 6/4 with the LA Philharmonic, Steve Martin, and Martin Short along with fireworks. I went to this last year, and it was spectacular (pun intended).

πŸ“PLACES TO BEπŸ“

The Win~Dow

Venice & Silver Lake

Going to put this out there: The Win~Dow is one of the best burgers in LA. I start salivating just thinking about them.

Their famous smash-burger and dipped cone will cure any anxiety you have. Also, something I love about them: super affordable πŸ”

Their parent restaurant, American Beauty, is offering take-home grill kits for the long holiday weekend. Check out the cute BBQ we had with ours. Highly recommend if you wanna show off your grilling skills πŸ–

Kippered

Downtown

You know that some of Camber's brand pillars consist of natural wine and tinned fish, so when I discovered Kippered, I geeked out.

I finally visited the DTLA bar because our friends at Bomba were launching their first natural wine there. I paired the glass of Riesling with tinned calamari, and I'm officially declaring that the pairing of the summer 🐟🍷

rykn cafe

Arts District

I have been seeing this coffee shop eeeevvveerywhereee on my FYP, so I schlepped to the Arts District to finally see it for myself.

rykn cafe is next door to kodō, which is a Kyoto Inspired Izakaya restaurant, so the environment is Japanese minimalism at its finest. When I tell you I was swooning...

Be sure to get their Black Sesame Cappuccino β˜•

Camber

πŸ’¬ ONE FINAL THING πŸ’¬

See ya around,

Mads

Reply to this email or DM me on Instagram if you wanna chit-chat or if there's something you'd like to see in an upcoming edition πŸ“§