🌊 I officially found the best beach in LA

Dance church, hotel pools, & tinned fish

I'm a born and raised SoCal gal, but I've never really enjoyed the beach. I know...I know πŸ€¦

BUT, I officially found the best beach this weekend. One that is secluded, has easy parking, and doesn't take a long time to get to the shore. And of course, I'm here to share it with you. It's called Lechuza Beach in Malibu. You're welcome.

Going off this seaside theme, I've been fascinated with the tinned fish moment that's happening right now. So, I made a comprehensive list of where to buy some. Always doing the important work here at Camber.

And now, we transition to summer. What are your MDW plans?

Like what you see below? Save these recs or share your own with friends on our app! 

Okay, let's get to the going.

πŸ—“οΈ THINGS TO DO πŸ—“οΈ

  • 🍷 Dudley Market in Venice is putting on a wine & cider day on Monday 5/23. Some of my fave natty wine brands will be there like Jumbo Time, Purity, and Wavy.

  • 🎲 Ahhh, we're hosting our first Rummikub Club on Tuesday 5/24. Unfortunately, there are no more spots left (😭), but to be notified of future club meetups, submit your info here. We promise to find larger spaces to accommodate more people!

  • πŸ₯Ÿ For AAPI Heritage Month, ROW DTLA has been featuring a new food truck owned by a member of the AAPI community every week. This Wednesday 5/25, check out Dina's Dumplings from 12 - 3 PM.

  • VIRTUAL πŸ“² On Thursday 5/26 at 3 PM PST, I'll be chatting with my good friend Kim Johnson on IG Live about her favorite places in New York. Come through and chat with us!

  • πŸͺ© Are you a 90's kid? Same. There's a 90's themed dance party on Friday 5/27 if you're feeling nostalgic for some Blink 182 and Britney Spears.

  • πŸŠβ€β™€οΈ Why not spend Memorial Weekend by a pool? You can reserve a chair at a hotel pool (like Hotel June) here.

  • πŸ•Ί There's a dance party happening at Platform in Culver City on Sunday 5/29 at 10 AM PST. They're calling it "Dance Church."

  • 🐟 Every last Sunday of the month, Sun-Days pops up at Dudley Market for record spins & tasty fins.

πŸ“PLACES TO BEπŸ“

Kismet Rotisserie

Los Feliz

As a rotisserie chicken enthusiast, Kismet Rotisserie is my version of heaven. This casual spot feels sooo close to a home-cooked meal. I get the quarter chicken plate and schmaltzy potatoes. Drool.

Add extra (and then another extra) garlic sauce.

Highly Likely

West Adams

I think I have a crush on Highly Likely.

Not only is the decor cute af, but they have stellar food πŸ‘ coffee πŸ‘ and wine πŸ‘. Such a good place to work from, meet up with a friend for casual brunch, or have a little evening wine session.

Only the Wild Ones

Venice

I just want to go on the record that one day last year I said "why tf doesn't Abbot Kinney have a trendy, wine bar?" and then Only the Wild Ones opened, like, a month later. So...

By the people behind The Butcher's Daughter, this natural wine bar is just the chic-est. I would recommend going early before a dinner at Neighbor or Gjelina. 

πŸ’¬ ONE FINAL THING πŸ’¬

Overheard LA asked people on the streets of Los Angeles the hard-hitting question:

Here's my answer: F*ck Erewhon, Marry Whole Foods, and Kill Trader Joe's.

What's yours?

See ya around,

Mads

Reply to this email or DM me on Instagram if you wanna chit-chat or if there's something you'd like to see in an upcoming edition πŸ“§