๐Ÿฅ› Buffalo milk is in, you guys

Our walk club, breathwork classes, and a trendy bowling alley

Hello my sweet local tourists ๐Ÿ‘‹

I have been binging tf out of the How Long Gone podcast. Yes, I know I'm late to the game, but if you wanna listen to the euphonic banter of Chris Black and Jason Stewart, I highly recommend tuning into this episode where they break down their cursed experience at Mother Wolf. They scratch a very niche Los Angeles itch that I didn't know I had.

Like what you see below? Save these recs or share your own with friends on our app!

Okay, let's get to the going.

๐Ÿ—“๏ธ THINGS TO DO ๐Ÿ—“๏ธ

  • ๐Ÿ On Tuesday 8/2, Woon Kitchen (you remember her from last week) and Conti's are collabing to make a Chewy Noodle Bolognese. And natty wine will be serve by none other than Pinkies Up. Pre-order here!

  • ๐Ÿ“ฝ๏ธ Every Tuesday, the Hammer Museum puts on their series called Summer Night Cinema. You get after hours gallery access, drinks and bar bites at Lulu, and free film screenings. It's called culture. Look it up.

  • ๐ŸŽณ Rally up a squad and book a lane at Highland Park Bowl. Check out their calendar for upcoming themed nights as well.

  • ๐Ÿฟ Melrose Rooftop Theatre at EP & LP has a stellar lineup this week: She's the Man on 8/2, Notting Hill on 8/4, and The Wolf of Wall Street on 8/5 (*cue the Matthew McConaughey chant*).

  • ๐Ÿ˜ฎโ€๐Ÿ’จ My favorite meditation app Open is hosting a live breathwork class at ROW DTLA on Thursday 8/4. Reserve your spot here.

  • ๐Ÿ’ฅ Watch Back to the Future with the LA Phil as they perform the score at the Hollywood Bowl on Friday 8/5. I love a summer Hollywood Bowl night.

  • ๐Ÿท Lunetta in Santa Monica is throwing a Grill & Chill party on Saturday 8/6. I'm talking a DJ, lawn games, and a lotta rosรฉ. Get tickets here.

  • ๐Ÿšถ Come walk with us!! We'll be meeting at the The Trails Cafe in Griffith Park on Saturday 8/6 for a lil walk together. Afterwards, we'll be enjoying the new Ghia Spritz and natty beers from Soonish. Can't wait to meet you all.

  • ๐Ÿฒ On Saturday 8/6, the tea room Steep is having a Summer Night Market in the Mandarin Courtyard. Local vendors like Angry Egret Dinette and Psychic Wines will be there!

๐Ÿ“PLACES TO BE๐Ÿ“

Yangban Society

Arts District

If you subscribe to this newsletter, then Yangban Society has probably been on your radar.

This Korean-American deli and market is tasty and beyond cool. Chefs Kat and John wanted to create a restaurant concept that reflected and modernized the food of their childhoods. Be sure to check out the minimart upstairs that showcases snacks, pantry staples, and retail products all from LA-based and Asian American-owned businesses. Grab their custom-made Sawtelle Sake Makgeolli to have with dinner.

Now, you MUST order the buffalo milk soft serve with "the works." I consider driving back to the Arts District every evening just to get it ๐Ÿฆ

Apollonia's

Mid-City

Ever since I started posting LA recs on TikTok, people have been telling me to go to Apollonia's because it's been crowned one of the best pizzas in the city ๐Ÿ•

I'm not typically a square pizza girlie, but these slices were pretty killer. I wouldn't necessarily claim it as the "best" pizza in LA, but it's definitely up there. When I went they weren't serving their round slices, so I'll have to go back to try their New York-style pies.

Make sure you get a side of Mike's Hot Honey to dip your 'za in.

Amigo Roasters

Venice

When I find myself on Abbot Kinney, I always want to post up at a coffee shop to read, but the options for quiet, available spaces seem to be limited.

BUT, as I was doing my runway walk down that oh-so-trendy street, I found a little coffee cart outside of the spa Den Mother. They serve Amigo Coffee Roasters and let you use the outdoor couches that people who have spa appointments are chilling at.

I spent the afternoon reading and enjoying a Pacha Mama โ˜•

๐Ÿ’ฌ ONE FINAL THING ๐Ÿ’ฌ

My list of famous long lines in Los Angeles:

  • Courage Bagels

  • Supreme

  • Cookies on Melrose

  • Maru Coffee in Los Feliz

  • Brunch at Republique

  • LAX luggage drop off

  • Kumquat Coffee on a Sat morning

  • Pinkโ€™s Hot Dogs

  • Howlinโ€™ Rayโ€™s

See ya around,

Mads

Reply to this email or DM me on Instagram if you wanna chit-chat or if there's something you'd like to see in an upcoming edition ๐Ÿ“ง