🍗 I found the best chicken wings in LA. For real.

A burger party, Maru Coffee collab, & sober poolside pop-up

I'm baaaack!! Did you miss me? Because I missed you. I mean only a little because Santorini was a magical land of white houses and ocean views everywhere you turn, so...

If you're going to be summer tripping to Greece this summer like the rest of every person on the internet, I put all my recs on my Camber profile 📲

In other news, I made a shared Google Cal for all of us because there's simply too many good pop-ups and events going on these days, and I don't want any of us to miss them. I'll be adding the events mentioned in this newsletter and more that I find throughout the week. Woot woot 🗓️

Like what you see below? Save these recs or share your own with friends on our app!

Okay, let's get to the going.

🗓️ THINGS TO DO 🗓️

  • 🍔 The Good Life is putting together a dinner at the Burger She Wrote Hollywood location on Tuesday 7/26. My favorite orange natty wine brand Fallen Grape will be there, too. Email [email protected] to RSVP!

  • 🏃‍♀️ Koreatown Run Club has a killer weekly running schedule. On Thursdays, they meet at LOVE HOUR, and I would highly recommend getting a celebratory burger.

  • ☮️ Museum of Peace & Quiet is having a pop-up at Maru Coffee in Los Feliz. This might possibly be the best collab of all time. Also, they'll be selling these sweatshirts, and I simply need one.

  • 🦪 Shucks Oyster has a pop-up at the Chateau Marmont every Friday - Sunday during the summer. We love a Chateau moment. Make sure to call ahead to make a reservation.

  • 🎾 Wanna learn to play tennis but don't know where to start? Racquet Club LA is hosting a beginners group on Sunday 7/31. I went to their last one, and it was such a delightful way to spend a Sunday morning...and I'm as beginner as they get. DM them for info!

  • 🍹 To all my sober and/or sober-curious friends: Soft Spirits is having a poolside pop-up nonalcoholic bar at the Ace Hotel DTLA on Saturday 7/30. Cheers.

  • 🍰 Our friends at Wine + Eggs are having a Cake & Ceramics day on Sunday 7/31. You can get a slice of Meyer lemon cake with plum jam (um...yum) by Sasha Piligian along with a handmade wheel thrown ceramic by Danny D's Mud Shop. Get tix here.

📍PLACES TO BE📍

Woon

Historic Filipinotown

This casual Chinese food joint is my new favorite place in the city. You think I'm joking.

Woon has been on my list foreveveevever, and I finally stopped by when Wavy Wines (side note: their Super Californian Red is almost TOO drinkable) did a takeover last week. The chicken wings are a MUST order. Other faves include veggie fried rice and the beef noodles.

They also have rad little gifts like this 🥟

Sonoratown

DTLA & Mid-City

I used to frequent Sonoratown in DTLA for lunch while I was working at my first job out of college. Sonoratown has been serving up tacos in the style of San Luis Río Colorado, Sonora (cooked over mesquite wood fire) since 2016 and are considered some of the best tacos in the city.

And now as a mid-city girlie, I was so excited when their second location opened on San Vicente. Like old times, I went over there for a lunch break and got myself some costilla, pollo, and tripa tacos 🌮

Bar Bandini

Echo Park

So, there's a thing called natural wine on tap, and I won't shut up about it 🍷

Bar Bandini in Echo Park has a great lineup of wines on tap and in bottle. Having wines on tap is more cost-efficient and reduces waste (yay). Oh, and it doesn't hurt that Bar Bandini has the perfect patio, which you guys know I'm a sucker for.

They also host a comedy show every Wednesday at 8 PM. Fun!

💬 ONE FINAL THING 💬

See ya around,

Mads

Reply to this email or DM me on Instagram if you wanna chit-chat or if there's something you'd like to see in an upcoming edition 📧