πŸ₯‚ Dry January has become my only personality trait

Crown Affair menu, sober happy hours, & our next Walk Club

I can't wait for this week. As you'll see below, I kind of couldn't stop listing events because there's soooo much happening.

If you're a TikTok girlie like me, then you know that Alix Earle was in Los Angeles last week. So, of course I created a "basic-adjacent" guide for her.

Like what you see below? Save these recs or share your own with friends on our app!

Okay, let's get to the going.

πŸ—“οΈ THINGS TO DO πŸ—“οΈ

  • 🍸 Iconic Greenwich Village Bar Dante will be hosting a special aperitivo at Gran Blanco on Monday 1/16 between 3-7 PM. They're celebrating their new Los Angeles location opening in the spring in Beverly Hills.

  • πŸ₯‚ If you're looking for a sober happy hour, Zero Proofed is partnering with Bumble on Monday 1/16 at Hotel June. Cheers!

  • πŸ₯— The perfect menu does not exi-. Oh wow, Organic Oren created a whole Crown Affair-themed menu for Monday 1/16. I'll be getting the "Take Your Time Chicken."

  • πŸ₯― Los Angeles bagel staple, Western Bagels, is now the official bagel partner at Alfred Coffee. Great choice.

  • 🚲 Looking for fresh bread and bagels for the week? Mehl Market is popping up at Luft in Venice on Wednesday 1/18. The event is all about promoting women's cycling!

  • β˜• On Thursday 1/19, Thank You Coffee in Anaheim is hosting a Latte Art Throwdown. May the best barista win.

  • 🍷 The New Bar is hosting a non-alcoholic wine and food pairing with Proxies on Thursday 1/19. This is the dinner party of my dreams.

  • πŸ• My besties Ggiata & La Morra Pizzeria are teaming up on Thursday 1/19. Sign me tf up.

  • 🐟 Ah, 2 of my favorite things: Little Fish & Brain Dead Studios! On Saturday 1/21 & Sunday 1/22, Little Fish will be popping up at my fave little backyard, Slammers Cafe.

  • 🎨 Artist Michael McGregor's new show, PRIVATE PARTY, opens on Saturday 1/21 at Hashimoto Contemporary in Culver City. There will be these cute matches there as well.

  • πŸ‹οΈ On Sunday 1/22, you can take a sculpt class with CAMP LA followed by non-alcoholic mimosas at The New Bar. The perfect Sunday.

  • 🏨 Why not treat yourself to a mini getaway? The roadside resort Cuyama Buckhorn is having a weekend-long event called Coast to Cuyama from Friday 1/20 to Sunday 1/22 celebrating the coast and the valley of Santa Barbara County. Expect mezcal tasting, sea-centric dinners, and movie screenings.

  • CAMBER IRL 🚢 Our January Walk Club is here! We'll be walking in Brentwood on Saturday 1/21 at 11 AM PST. Pups welcome 🐢

πŸ“PLACES TO BEπŸ“

Pijja Palace

Silver Lake

Alright, so I know I'm late to the Pijja Palace game, but...

This spot is probably the only sports bars I'll willingly go to. Now, I'm not even sure if anyone is actually watching sports here lol, but the many, many TVs lining the walls make it easy for you to do so. Beyond that, the decor is so inviting and cool af with modern booths and checkered tables.

Now on to their Indian twist on classic Italian dishes: oh god the malai rigatoni and green chutney pijja (pizza) were must-orders πŸ• Oh, and remember to get the dosa onion rings, yellow wings, and the cookies & cardamom soft serve.

The New Bar

Venice

Doing Dry January has become my new personality trait.

I was so excited to visit The New Bar in Venice to stock up on the last half of the month. The staff is so friendly, and they knew what they were doing with the decor of this space. It's *chef's kiss*.

The selection they have is beyond: Kin, Ghia, De Soi, Surely, and waaay more (taste test coming soon) πŸ₯‚

Destroyer

Culver City

The food at this Culver City cafe is almost too pretty to eat.

Destroyer has been on my list since it opened in 2016. I'm so mad I wanted this long, because damn. It is the perfect power lunch spot, and every dish feels like a work of art.

As a ceramics enthusiast, every cup and plate and bowl made me so happy.

πŸ’¬ ONE FINAL THING πŸ’¬

See ya around,

Mads

Reply to this email or DM me on Instagram if you wanna chit-chat or if there's something you'd like to see in an upcoming edition πŸ“§